Pro Version | USD Change Currency | Help | Mobile Site

2005 Kaesler Stonehorse Shiraz, Barossa Valley, Australia

NV   2002   2004   2006   2009   2011
2001   2003   2005   2008   2010   2012
Wine Notes

Tasting note: A clean, firm array of black fruits, dark chocolate and ripe tannins; minimal oak influence. (30-Nov-2006) [James Halliday]

Price Range of 750ml bottle, ex-tax in USD
Average: $31   From: $26   To: $31

Search Rank 7197 What is this?
Over all vintages, this was the 7197th most popular wine on Wine-Searcher last year.
Search rank last month: 6011th

Score: 90   When to drink: 2006 to 2017
The Wine-Searcher score of 90/100 is calculated from the following wine critic scores:
Critic Score When to drink
94/100   2006 to 2017
Click a critic's name for details, or the score to go to their website.

Price History for 2005 Kaesler Stonehorse Shiraz, Barossa Valley, Australia
Loading ...

Grape Variety

Shiraz is the name given to the dark-skinned Syrah grape when grown in Australia and selected pockets of the New World. Though genetically identical, the stylistic differences between Shiraz and Syrah are pronounced enough to consider them distinct varieties. Shiraz is so important to Australian viticulture that it is the most planted grape variety in the majority of Australian vineyards and is virtually synonymous with wine regions such as the Barossa Valley.


  • The Barossa Valley is an extremely important wine-producing region within the Barossa zone of South Australia. A prestigious and internationally renowned region, it is not only home to some of the oldest vineyards and wineries in Australia but produces some of its most recognizable and sought-after brands. The region takes its name from the 'Barossa' ranges and the 'Valley' created by the North Para river, which connects the main towns of Nuriootpa, Tanunda and Lyndoch.

    Located at a latitude of 34°S, the region's geography is dominated by valley floors and rolling hills which sometimes reach altitudes where white grapes can be grown without compromising their character. The ...more

  • Barossa is one of the six wine-producing zones of South Australia. It is divided into two sections: the Barossa Valley, and the Eden Valley, both of which have their own separate Geogr...more

  • 3 of 3

    Site Map About Contact Business Advertising Social